Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Jlol
Senior Contributor

It's so rigged. What's the point?

Sorry. Incoming rant.

This year, at my job, I've earnt almost 2 and a half times as much as I did than before the pandemic. I'm a white collar professional with tertiary education and close to 15 years work experience. Apart from a mortgage I've never been in debt (never even owned a credit card), never bought anything beyond my means ($3000 cars, 2nd hand furniture), and never had any costly addictions like gambling, smoking or drugs. I don't have children or financially support anyone.

I always thought, in this area of my life, I worked damn hard and did everything by the book.

Then why the hell do I find myself crashing on couches with nowhere to live?

If I'm doing it this tough I can't even imagine how others are coping.

It feels as soon as we (the middle and lower classes) get even slightly ahead in life the powers that be (the rich) snatch it away by moving the goalposts.

"Oh look, people can finally afford a home because the interest rates are below 2%? Better jack it up to 6+! Can't have the plebs not renting!".

"Oh look, people are finally getting a slight pay rise after 10 years of wage stagnation? Better call to layoff 100,000 people!"

Look, I know the RBA does these things in a effort to tackle inflation. But they've only got the one tool of interest rate changes to do this. And I'm meant to believe this one tool just coincidentally doesn't affect the rich "landed gentry" upper crust nearly as much as the rest of us?